Dignity for all Students Act

  • Please click on the link below to view an informative video regarding New York State's Dignity for All Students Act (DASA).

    The Patchogue-Medford School District is committed to providing an educational environment that promotes respect, dignity, and equality. The District recognizes that students’ ability to learn and to meet high academic standards and a school’s ability to educate its students are compromised by incidents of bullying or harassment. Such behavior affects not only the individuals who are its targets but also those who participate in or witness such acts. All school personnel have a professional responsibility to assist the children of our schools with bullying (including cyberbullying) and socialization issues. Employees are expected to address incidents as necessary and report bullying to teachers, administrators and/or supervisors.

    New York State’s Dignity for All Students Act (The Dignity Act) seeks to provide the State’s public elementary and secondary school students with a safe and supportive environment free from discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, and bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function.

    DASA includes instruction in civility, citizenship, and character education by expanding the concepts of tolerance, respect for others and dignity to include: an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes.

     Dignity for all Students Act Coordinators

    Joey J. Cohen, Ed.D. Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

    Matthew Hanley, Principal Barton Elementary School

    Rui Mendes, Principal Bay Elementary School

    Robert Epstein, Principal Canaan Elementary School

    Erin Skahill, Principal Eagle Elementary School

    Sharon Deland, Ed.D., Principal Medford Elementary School

    Tania Dalley, Ed.D., Principal River Elementary School

    Emily Wernau, Principal Tremont Elementary School

    Bryan Lake, Principal Oregon Middle School

    Manuel Sanzone, Principal Saxton Middle School

    Timothy Piciullo, Ed.D. Principal South Ocean Middle School

    Randy Rusielewicz, Ed.D., Principal High School